A Touch of Shadows

Jessica Thorne

A lost queen’s sacrifice. Two kingdoms at war for centuries. And a spark of passion between hunter and hunted with the power to end everything…

The shadow magic has always whispered to Wren. The same dark power that once ravaged her home kingdom of Asteroth. So she must keep her magic hidden, only using it to help people in need in the remote border village she calls home. Discovery of her gifts would mean death.

Noble knight Finn has sworn to serve his new home, Asteroth, by hunting down those who use shadow magic. He has never forgiven his father, ruler of enemy kingdom Ilanthus, for his terrible cruelty. Spying for Asteroth in his own father’s royal court is his revenge – and carrying a warning of raiding parties on the move, Finn is passing through Wren’s small town…

When terrible creatures in the nearby forest attack him, Wren risks exposing her magic and saves his life. But as they touch, burning desire takes over. And Wren’s magic floods through them both.

As the power fades, Wren and Finn’s wariness of each other returns, even with a new bond between them. But there’s no time to untangle their feelings from the seductive call of the magic. Because with enemy soldiers crossing the border, dark days are coming to Asteroth…

Their fates now entwined, can Wren and Finn learn to trust each other to save their kingdom? Or will they be the key to its destruction?

A Touch of Shadows is a totally gripping and enchanting fantasy romance, packed full of delicious passion, stunning world-building and bewitching magic. This first book in an addictive new series is perfect for fans of Rebecca Yarros, Sarah J. Maas and Jennifer L. Armentrout.

What readers are saying about Jessica Thorne:

50 bajillion stars ✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯… I loved this book so much for so many reasons. It broke my heart into a million pieces and put it all back together again. I laughed, smiled, and gasped in surprise at every step of the way… I honestly think this is one of my favourite books.’ Faemance Book Blog, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Took my heart out of my chest, stomped on it and then put it back, while whispering, “Keep reading”I sat and ugly cried for 15 minutes, while heart-wrenching sobs escaped my mouth… Amazing.’ Awesome Alitza, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

I LOVED THIS BOOK!!!Perfection… FIVE STARS allllll the way!… Mind-blowing… so much to love… make sure you get it! I can’t wait to order my physical copy just to have it on my bookshelf. I loved it that much!!!’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Wow, this is one of the best books I have readsimply fantastic, amazing, outstanding and superb. I loved it so much… Fantastic… an amazing book, which you just have to read so that you can feel the magic too!’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Hands down this is one of the best books I have read… I started it before bed and almost stayed up all night to finish it… Fabulous. Right up there with Sarah J Maas… Breath-taking and special and legitimately made me laugh and cheer out loud and yes, cry. Must read. Must buy. Must share with everyone you know. Promise.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘I am hooked… An excellent book from start to finish… A must-readImpossible to put down until the last page. Absolutely loved this book.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘A truly wonderful heart-warming, yet heartbreaking novel filled with mystery. I absolutely loved it and could not put it down.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Absolutely love itStunning!I’ll be screaming about it for days… I didn’t see the reveal coming at the end of this book… SO GOOD.’ Writingtheuniverse, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

More From the Series: The Lost Queen

More From Jessica Thorne